I Didn’t Mean To Stay Away From This Blog For So Long!

Being an autistic Black woman living in the big city (Boston) has been hard the last couple of years. It has kept me away from this blog so many times that I have lost count. When I started it back in July 2005, I was pounding out at least 5 or 6 posts per week. Sometimes, even more than that.

Problem is trying to find a positive way to get paid for writing this blog or maybe have this blog convince an employer to hire me for my writing talent, but that never happened. I have always promoted it a lot in the past. Going to networking events, parties, and other social gatherings, I would tell everyone in the room about my talents as a writer and an artist, but it seems those people didn’t care about this autistic Black woman’s talents. They seemed to care about things I never cared about and didn’t believe I was a capable person at doing other things. A few people do, but they are not in a position to pay me a huge salary.

During the years when I didn’t know that I was autistic (and no one else knew either), I had a lot of difficult relationships and situations. These days, I have physical problems with my lower back, my right hip, and now my left foot. I have recently moved from Roslindale to Hyde Park in Massachusetts (I’m still in Boston). I now have to go to physical therapy for my left foor because the ankle pain that resulted from my move. My life consists of talking to people who are finding ways to help me live a normal life with the physical pain I have to deal with on a daily basis. My left foot is wearing a brace to keep it from collapsing on itself.

Last November, my car that I had named Baby Blue (the 2012 Mustang Convertible) was parked outside my Roslindale apartment at night and was hit by another car. The insurance company declared it totaled. I felt as though one of my cats had died. In December 2022, a couple of days before my birthday, I managed to get a new car that named White Satin (a 2020 Mustang Convertible). When I moved out of my old apartment in Roslindale, I couldn’t help but think about Baby Blue and how I lost her. At least, I still have my 2 cats, Rogue and Destiny, with me at my new home.

Even though I have lived in Boston for a long time, I still find it amazing that it’s still difficult for me to make a decent salary (I had a lot of education and work experience for most of my adult life, but employers don’t think all that is good enough).

I am looking into other ways to make money. Right now, I am still stuck in a day job that can’t cover all my cost of living expenses.

Now, I am focusing on making my life different. I am going to continue to blog, but at infrequent times.