Day: August 19, 2014

Remembering Lauren Bacall

During my vacation in Old Orchard Beach, I was saddened to learn about Lauren Bacall’s death. She had a severe stroke last Tuesday. She was a legend and could hold her own against Humphrey Bogart. That’s why they got married in real life.




Remembering Robin Williams

Like I said in my previous post, I was very upset to hear about Robin Williams’ death by suicide. I grew up watching him and Pam Dawber on Mork & Mindy. It’s one of my favorite shows ever. I even loved watching Robin Williams in his movies: both the comedies and dramas.




Rest in peace, Robin Williams! You will be missed by everyone!

Was Vacationing at Old Orchard Beach, Maine, Last Week

I was away at Old Orchard Beach most of last week. I drove up there on Tuesday, August 12. I had planned to post that I was going away on vacation last Monday night, but I was very upset to hear about Robin Williams’ death. Even more upset that he had committed suicide. Part of my vacation was watching the news unfold about him. He was in the early stages of Parkinson’s Disease.

I did take the time to go to the beach when it wasn’t raining. Last Wednesday, there was one hell of a rainstorm on the east coast. Up here in Maine, the city of Portland, which is just north of Old Orchard Beach, got more than 6 inches of rain. I drove up to the Maine Mall in South Portland on Wednesday morning and left early in the afternoon before the heavier rain hit. I was lucky because a lot of roads got flooded out in both Portland and Old Orchard Beach.

I was also saddened to hear about the death of legendary actress Lauren Bacall, the widow of legendary actor Humphrey Bogart. Still, I managed to have a good time at the beach before going home on Saturday.

I was very exhausted from driving long distance. I was never used to it which is why I don’t drive long distance very often. Actually, I can only drive about 100 miles or so before I tire out that’s including taking a few stops for food and going to the bathroom.