My Brother Would Have Been 57 Today

Happy Birthday in Heaven, Alfred! (July 13, 1961 – June 19, 1980)

I always think about him more so in the summer time.  He never made to 19 years old because of the car accident he was in with his blue Camero.  All we know is that he lost control of the car and it crashed into a tree.  Alfred suffered a severe head injury.  He was unconscious the few days before he died.

I wonder so many times about if he hadn’t been in a terrible car accident.  I was amazed that he was able to make friends with people so easily while I couldn’t because I was an undiagnosed autistic Black girl.  Some of the children we grew up with were very mean to me but extremely friendly with him.  They didn’t give a damn that I was his younger sister while their older siblings were buddies with Alfred.  Such an unfair situation.

Obviously, Alfred wasn’t autistic at all like me.